3. Internet Friends

I didn’t really want to write today, but my brain said that I should wrote a post about internet friends.

People have internet friends, whether they’re from Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or any other social medias. Some people don’t realize that they have internet friends. But, basically, every followers that you have on your social media (whatever it is), that’s your internet friends. They could be the first person you talk to in the morning, and the last person you talk to at night. They immediately became your best friend, which you could’ve thought was impossible.

I have a lot of interesting stories about my internet friends.

First, about my friend (okay, my best friend) that I met from Wattpad.

So, I posted a Destiel AU (my OTP from Supernatural) fanfic based on Troye’s Blue Neighbourhood trilogy on Wattpad. And after that, a couple hours later, someone commented a lot on my fanfic. I later found out that that person had a lot in common with me. I replied to that person that maybe we should be friends and know each other.

Later, I found out that person texted me on Wattpad, saying that he/she already followed my Instagram account and he/she asked my phone number. Surprised, I quickly gave my phone number, and waiting for his/her text. But sooner, I remember my parents said be careful of those strangers I met on the internet, and suddenly I became afraid of what I have done. What if that person was a bad person? What if that person was a part of a bad organization? What if..

That person was the first one to text me, and I found out that she (yes, she) really had a lot in common with me. We liked YouTubers, Supernatural, and other stuffs, and I was happy because it felt like I finally found my soulmate. Turns out that she was a bisexual, which was really surprising for me because I never knew there’s a person in Indonesia that was a part of LGBTQ community. I am an LGBTQ activist, and I support them. She finally became my best friend, and she kept telling me that if I want to come out later, I had to come out to her first. She told me that it’s okay to be a queer (yes, I am a queer), because I’m too young to know things and my journey in this life is still going on.

(Okay, take a deep breath)

(I’m really emotional right now)

Another experience that I’ve encountered was when I was depressed and my eating disorder was out of control. I didn’t know what to do because I felt like I was the saddest person in this planet, I was clueless and hopeless. No one realized what I was suffering, and no one cared. I opened my Twitter and tweeted that I really need support because I didn’t think I could handle all of my problems. Soon, I didn’t expect a lot of responds to my tweet, and they tweeted that if I need someone to talk to, I could talk to them. They said that I am amazing and I’m not alone, and they love me and they’ll always be there for me.

So, every person that interact with you on the internet is basically your internet friends. Every single one of them is your internet friends, even if you barely talk to them and vice versa.

I just want to clear things up here; maybe your parents (or someone you know) told you to never talk to people on the internet because they could be liars and ruin your life, but what they didn’t tell you was that they could be some of the best people you’ll ever meet. If you always online on the internet, they always there for you even if you’re on your darkest time, they’re ready to pull you back into the light.

What about you? Do you have any personal experience about how you know your internet friends? Let me know in the comment below.

Thank you for being the best internet friends! If you’re reading this, I’m giving you virtual hugs!

*hugs hugs*

Byee! 😉

Leave a Reply

