9. BOOKTALK: A Work In Progress (2015)

Let’s talk about books!

(and Connor Franta).

Recently I bought this book from the local bookstore, after my friend took a photo of this book and sent it to me. “I wanna buy this book of Connor,” she texted me. And that moment I was like, “Oh. My. Gosh. Where are you now, I need to buy that book.”

So, after 3-hours-long shopping with my mum, I finally got to buy this book, after I begged to my mum. “Please, mum, please,” I begged, with a smile plestered on my face. “Let me buy this book!”

“But who is Connor Franta?”

“I’ll explain all of this at home, plus we’re going to have a marathon of his videos.”

“Wait, what?”

“That’s a yes, okay, thank you!” I screamed as I ran to the bookshelf, finding the only book that left in the shelf; A Work In Progress: A Memoir by Connor Franta.

Connor-Franta-A-Work-in-Progress

Who is Connor Franta?

Connor is a 22-year-old YouTuber, who uploads videos about random topics every week. You may doubt how much you’ll possibly learn from a person who has only lived for 22 years. However, this is not about the number of years he has lived, but rather what kind of life he has lived so far.

Connor always appears to be funny and dramatic in his videos; sometimes it’s just difficult to take him seriously. I assume that you must be interested in his book if you’re reading this, and if you are debating whether you should read it, then I suggest you to watch the following video of his.

Among all the hilarious videos, a video like this is the one that really hits me. And in his debut, it’s full of surprises and wise and sensitive words like this.

In this book, you get to know the life stories of Connor. Some of them will surprise you; some of them will melt your heart; some of them will give you courage. After every story, Connor talks about what he learns from it, and somehow as a reader, I learn from it too. There are no fancy words or special writing techniques. Connor’s words are sincere, raw and honest. You can feel his personality in them. It’s like hearing Connor talks to you, gives you advice and encourages you gently.

“Who are you? You are who you are right now. Label-less. Limitless.”

Besides the words, the pictures inside the book are also fantastic. The ones took by Connor are really artsy. If you are someone who is into photography (like me), I truly suggest you to pick this up because it inspires me to take good pictures. One of the things that I’ve learned from Connor is that don’t give up your artistic side even when others don’t approve.

Do what you love, and love what you do.

If you wanna be inspired, start this 212-page journey, I’m sure it’s gonna be an unforgettable one. I promise.

Connor Franta, you’re probably reading this. I love you, we love you. You’re always there in our darkest time; when other people leave us, you’re the only one that stand still by our sides. Thank you for your encouragement for us through this book, it’s really inspiring.

That’s all I have for you today! I hope you enjoy this post, and this review of Connor’s book. It’s really well-written, and maybe you should buy this.

Byee! 😉


P.S.:  Did I mention that Connor wrote Troye’s name in this book twice?

5 thoughts on “9. BOOKTALK: A Work In Progress (2015)

    1. if you haven’t got a chance to read the book, you can hear the audiobook on audible.com/Connor (you can get the first book for free if you sign up using that link), or you can find an e-book version of this book in pdf format 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: MUSICTALK: Blue Neighbourhood (2015) – priscillaanth

Leave a Reply

