10. MUSICTALK: Blue Neighbourhood (2015)

Let’s talk about music!

(and Troye Sivan).

Actually I wanted to make a review of his songs since I listened his EP titled WILD, because Blue Neighbourhood is one of the best albums I’ve heard in 2015.

Recently I bought a copy of the album from the same bookstore where I bought Connor’s book A Work in Progress. I made a review on that book, so if you’re curious about the book and want to know more about it, just check my latest post here. I could tell that I’m broke now because the album itself costs IDR 120.000 and Connor’s book IDR 306.000.

So, yeah. Thanks, Troye and Connor.

For all of you who doesn’t know who Troye is, he’s an Australian singer, songwriter, actor, and YouTuber. He’s the one who play young James Howlett in X-Men Origins: Wolverine. On 2014, he released his first EP titled TRXYE, with Happy Little Pill as the main single. Then, on September 2015, he released his second EP, which was WILD. At last, on December 2015, he released debut studio album titled Blue Neighbourhood. Six songs in this album has already released before for WILD-EP.

To be honest, as a 15-year-old fangirl, it’s really difficult to list all of the songs because almost all of them are my favorite. So, I’ll review based on the track-list from the album, okay?

I’m sorry if the photos aren’t pretty, I was too lazy to find the right angle to photograph something and the lighting was really bad.

  1. WILD

WILD tells us about the concept of forbidden love and how is it when we really fall in love with someone. The music video will tell us about gay relationship with suburban setting.

Highlight lyrics: “Never knew loving could hurt this good, and it drives me wild.”

  1. BITE

This track is really different from the others in this album. BITE gives us a mysterious sensation. Troye’s clear vocal will be our first thing we hear from the track, and he has angelic voice. About the lyrics? Oh god, Troye himself said that this track was about him going to a gay club for the first time and feeling like a piece of meat.

Highlight lyrics: “Kiss me on the mouth and set me free, but please don’t bite.”

  1. FOOLS

FOOLS is opened with the sound of piano that gives us a ballad impression in the beginning, but slowly it will change to Troye’s electropop music style. The music video for this track is the second part of the Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy. The lyrics tell us about how it feels to fall in love with someone and have to let go and make the person becomes the stupidest person in the world. Fun fact: this track is written in 30 minutes only.

Highlight lyrics: “Only fools fall for you, only fools do what I do.”

  1. EASE (ft. Broods)

EASE is one of those songs that are easy to listen to with fast tempo. The track’s lyrics tell us about how Troye have to go and be far away from home and his family for a long time because he has tours and others. Troye also recalls those times when he wasn’t famous but he had his family who were always by his side.

Highlight lyrics: “Take me back to the basic and the simple life.”

  1. The Quiet

The sound of the drums in this track really epic and the lyrics tell us about the feeling when our boyfriend/girlfriend /someone we love stay quiet and won’t talk a single thing to us. I don’t know, but this track became my least favorite.

Highlight lyrics: “Just tell me. Say anything. Anything hurts less than the quiet.”

  1. DKLA (ft. Tkay Maidza)

DKLA stands for ‘Don’t Keep Love Around”. The Tkay’s rap part at the end makes this track cooler than before. DKLA really becomes my favorite because of its music that is easy to listen.

Highlight lyrics: “Distance makes the heart grow fonder, said by someone stronger than me.”

  1. Talk Me Down

Talk Me Down is the last track from the Blue Neighbourhood Trilogy music video and it’s really, really a sad song and it will make your heart break slowly.

Highlight lyrics: “I wanna sleep next to you, I wanna hold hands with you.”

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

  1. Cool

This track’s lyrics tell us about someone who is trying to impress someone by trying to become like cool people. I think Cool and Youth are almost the same, and I prefer Youth though, but it’s up to the listener.

Highlight lyrics: “I was just trying to be cool, I was just trying to be like you.”

  1. HEAVEN (ft. Betty Who)

For me, this track is one of those Troye’s sad songs. The lyrics tell us about Troye’s personal struggle on his own sexuality, coming out, and being gay, and how hard he tries to keep his pride and faith.

Highlight lyrics: “If I’m losing a piece of me, maybe I don’t want heaven.”

  1. YOUTH

THIS IS MY FAVOURITE TRACK. Troye once said that this track is about dropping everything and running away, making mistakes, loving too hard and how that’s okay even when it’s not. Fun fact: the ‘my youth is yours’ part was inspired from a fan message that was sent to Allie X’s Tumblr when they were in the writing room.

Highlight: “My youth is yours, trippin’ on skies, sippin’ waterfalls.”

  1. Lost Boy

Lost Boy tells us about someone who have no idea about what kind of life they are currently in, but that’s okay, because we’re still young and don’t be too serious on living this life.

Highlight lyrics: “So what are you waiting for, ‘cause someone could love you more.”

  1. for him. (ft. Allday)

This track was one of those love songs that sounds upbeat but doesn’t sound cliché like other common love songs. Troye said that this song almost didn’t make it into the album because it’s too private and it’s actually for his boyfriend (*coughs* Connor *coughs* Franta), but he put it to the album at last. He explained that someone could say ‘I love you’ by just being like, “Text me when you get home safe”.

Highlight lyrics: “You don’t have to say I love you to say I love you.”

  1. Suburbia

Suburbia offers us the sound of soft drums and the harmony of violins. This track is another soundtrack when someone is ‘homesick’. The lyrics tell us about Troye who missed his family and Perth, his hometown and every single one of his memories there.

Highlight lyrics: “The sun sets longer where I am from, where dreams go to die while having fun.”

  1. TOO GOOD

The lyrics tell us about someone who is broken when he’s in love with someone, but the person doesn’t love him the same way like he does, and that person is ‘too good’ for him. This track is one of my favorite, and four words from me: the. Bass. Is. Crazy.

Highlight lyrics: “Too good to be good for me, too bad that that’s all I need.”

  1. BLUE (ft. Alex Hope)

BLUE is another love songs that doesn’t sound cliché, like for him. but giving us a ‘blue’ feeling. (I DON’T KNOW HOW TO DESCRIBE IT, I’M SORRY). The lyrics tell us about how we feel the sadness that is felt by someone we love.

Highlight lyrics: “I want you, I’ll color me blue, anything it takes to make you stay.”


 

Basically, I love the concept of this album. For Troye, Blue Neighbourhood is like his autobiography. Every single track in this album is a part of his real-life experiences, especially his gay relationship. I don’t know when he would come out with his boyfriend, but for now I think we should respect his privacy.

That’s all I have for you today! I hope you enjoy it, and I’m sorry if my grammar REALLY BAD, because I’m still learning English. I won’t post much on the next week because I have A LOT of exams coming on my way. I have to study harder than I usually do so I could graduate with good grades.

If you enjoy this review, let me know in the comment below and tell me what do I have to review for the next or upcoming post.

Byee! 😉


IMG_20160228_110331

“…, and my beautiful boyfriend.” – Troye Sivan.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “10. MUSICTALK: Blue Neighbourhood (2015)

  1. Pingback: My Music Compilation Vol. 1 – priscillaanth

  2. Pingback: The Music Tag! – Limitless Blog

  3. Pingback: YouTube’s Starter Pack | Limitless Blog

  4. Pingback: AOTW: Blue Neighbourhood (2015) | Limitless Blog

Leave a Reply

