35. Wi-Fi and Pixelated World.

We all know that Wi-Fi plays important role in our lives.

When we go to a place, like café or a restaurant, what is the first thing you ask to the waiter/barista?

The Wi-Fi password. Exactly.

Now, allow me to activate your imagination. What would happen if your Wi-Fi at home doesn’t work for a day?

For me, it would be like the worst day of my life. When I wake up in the morning, the first thing I’d do is turn on my phone, and open Instagram. If Wi-Fi stopped working, I’d probably cry, because maybe I missed Connor’s latest post (his Instagram is gold, go check it), or Troye’s (who barely posts) or Tyler’s.

If Wi-Fi stops working, I couldn’t update my Tumblr. Tumblr is my life. I spend half of my day on Tumblr, looking at weird GIFs and images. If the Wi-Fi stops for a day, I’d miss A LOT of things.

I’d miss a lot of tweets from Twitter. Tyler usually tweets something that relatable, I always try to be the first one to retweet it or reply to his tweet. The same thing applies to Connor’s too. If the Wi-Fi stops, that’d probably won’t happen.

And now, social medias. How many social medias are you in? More than three, I assume. They could be Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, even this platform!

My teacher once said that social medias are made for people who want to show-off to other people. To update their status, update about what’s currently happening in their life.

Yeah, well, sometimes social medias pretty functional for me, like when I’m in a place and my friends are in different area, I’d just gonna update my status and bam, they’d know what happened to me.

The only reason I kinda stop using all of my social medias is that my mum once got mad at me because I wouldn’t put my phone down when we were having dinner. “Those social medias, the far ones will be close to you, and the close ones will be far from you.”

We live in a pixelated world (is that even a word?) where we have to deal with internet, Wi-Fi, social medias, apps, and any other platforms. The new generation nowadays is called ‘internet kids‘, there’s no way to escape. And that literally makes us realize or not that we pay attention to our phones, being online on our own world non-stop, 24 hours.

But, slowly, I realize that I don’t have to be online for 24/7. No one dies if my Wi-Fi stops working. Nothing important’s gonna happen if I don’t pay attention to social medias non-stop.

I think maybe the world’s going to be a better place if people stop paying attention to their ‘Hannah Montana‘ world 24/7, the world where they’re becoming someone that completely different from themselves to escape from reality.

(Get what I mean?)

I mean, let’s put down our phones, turn off the Wi-Fi. Go socialize with the person in front of you, whether it’s your siblings, your parents, your girlfriend/boyfriend, your spouse, your friend, even strangers. They truly deserve your undisturbed-by-your-phone attention.

When I’m talking about socializing, I mean start conversation, being nice and polite (like a British). Sometimes the person in front of you need someone to talk to, so maybe you could just hear their chats about their life problem, being a good listener is also a nice way to socialize and show that you’re a nice person.

Being online all the time definitely is not the way to escape from reality. Sometime, all you have to do is wake up, stand up, and face your problems. God knows that He won’t give you problems that are much bigger than your strength.

I know that it is comfortable to being not who you are, to be someone else that everyone fancy. But, being yourself is much comfortable because that is who you are, you could do anything you want when you’re being you.

So, after you’re reading this post, close it. Put down your phone, shut it down. Look around, there must be a person near you. Approach them, and start socializing. Just for an hour.

On the next day, an hour and a half.

The next day, two hours without your phone.

Then maybe, you’re going to be able to live without your phone for a day, and that’s such an achievement.

So, yeah, this is a pretty long post. After I post this, I’m gonna shut down my phone, and start to relaxing by taking a ‘me’ hour. It is okay to take a ‘me’ hour (or a ‘me’ day) to be a better ‘you’.

Let me know in the comments below what would you do to get rid of your phone and the never-ending notifications (which probably will drive you wild).

Byee! 😉

8 thoughts on “35. Wi-Fi and Pixelated World.

  1. Interesting.
    I have United talk, text and data on my phone so I don’t need WiFi unless there’s I’m out of coverage range. That is quite freeing since I’m not on the hunt for WiFi locations.

    As for constant notifications? I just turn them off when I don’t want to be bothered. I’ll check in on my own schedule as opposed to being bombarded 24/7.

    Sometimes the mind and body just needs a bit of silence to connect with one’s Inner self and of course to reconnect with the Almighty.

    Happy WiFi – ing!! Have a pixelatedly fabulous day ☺🌷

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah I love this post! It’s so true, sometimes I get mad at myself for being completely obsessive over my social media just constantly scrolling down twitter/ instagram. Next thing you know, 3 hours have passed. That’s why I’ve decided to deactivate some social media apps especially during exam season right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! I usually spend half of my day on Tumblr, reblogging some weird GIFs, and at the end of the day it’s not useful. So yeah, deactivating social medias is one of many ways to stay away from the online world and try to socialize with real people 🙂 xx.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I do agree, the world of micro waves is really just one level of reality amongst so many we can reach as humans. Uncontrolled self-immersion in the net can really trap us unnecessarily. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

